Friday night’s Meal

Last night I cooked a Meat Loaf, Mashed Potatoes, Sautéed Yellow Squash that I had frozen from Arlon’s garden last year and a Caesar Salad.

The Meat Loaf is a basic meat loaf that I stuff with mozzarella cheese, very yummy!

The Mashed Potatoes, I boil red potatoes quartered with the potato skins left on, drain then added butter, cream cheese, sour cream, salt and pepper.

Sautéed Yellow Squash, last summer I washed, sliced the yellow squash then sautéed some onions in butter till wilted, added salt & pepper then the sliced squash. I cooked those down till soft. I do not add water to my vegetables unless they start sticking to the pot then I add a small amount of water. Squash has enough water in them that you do not need to add water. Then I put the squash in freezer zip lock bags and put those in ice water until they cool. Then I freeze. These froze wonderful except they are very watery so I drain some of the water off before I heat them up.

Caesar Salad I cheat and buy the bag of salad mix.

Just a good comfort food meal. You could of course make it more healthy than I do but we usually eat healthy 4 or 5 days a week and then have a couple of days of comfort food.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask!

Beverly

Leave a Reply

